Status: Fini

Raiders prevail at Trygg Memorial

The Rummel Raiders crowned five individual champions en route to a team victory at the 29th George Trygg Memorial Tournament this afternoon.  The Raiders placed third or better in nine of the 14 weight classes, scoring a total of 187 points.  St. Paul had three individual champions, scoring 166.5 points to place second, while host Grace King placed third with 124 points, also having three champions.

Rummel's champions were Tyler Mire, Matt Calcote, Joseph Kerry, Tyler Frame and Michael Darwin.  St. Paul's winners were Zach Clay, Dominic Iovenetti and John Brands, while the Irish of Grace King's champions were Jonathan Davidi, Brandon Briones and Maycol Rizo.

Denham Springs was one of only two schools aside from Rummel, St. Paul and King with a tournament champion.  Sophomore Christopher Marson kept his 2012 record unblemished with a fall in 1:21 over Rummel's Devyn Breaud.

Rummel's Joseph Kerry (left), wrestling at 138 pounds, defeated 2nd seed Christian Heningberg of Grace King in the semifinals and top-seed Jordan Mastrianni in the finals 4-3.  For his efforts Kerry won the "Phillip J. Romig Warrior Award" as the tournament's outstanding wrestler. Chalmette coach Ed Kavanaugh was recognized with the first "Ray Gremillion Coaching Distinction Award."  Coach Kavanaugh, a state champion for Holy Cross in 1967, coached at his alma mater from 1972 until late into the 1990s, has coached at Chalmette for several years.

109 wrestlers from 17 schools competed in the tournament, including South Walton High School of Santa Rosa Beach, Florida.  South Walton's Cody Pickrin was a surprise unseeded finalist after defeating #2 seed Stefon Foster of John Ehret in the 126 pound weight class.  "Foster is tough, a good opponent," said Pickrin.  "To be the best you have to wrestle the best."  Pickrin, a sophomore, has been wrestling since the 6th grade, in clubs prior to participating on a high school level.

Coach Cary Nick, now in his 7th year at South Walton, said his school's location in the "panhandle" is several hours away from the majority of wrestling in Florida.  "We go to Georgia, Alabama and have been to Pennsylvania to wrestle" he said.  "Louisiana has a great wrestling base, and we want to see different styles of wrestling and coaching.  We get better prepared for our state championships by traveling."  This was South Walton's second trip to the Trygg Memorial and they will be back in Louisiana in late December for the Deep South Bayou Duals in Baton Rouge.

King's runner-up Angello-Medina Perez (120 lbs. at left) and 113 champion Jonathan Davadi. Rummel's Tyler Mire (left) "gets a leg up" on King's Angelo Medina-Perez Rummel's Matt Calcote lifts South Walton's Cody Pickrin off of the mat at 126 lbs.
Zach Clay of St. Paul's attempts to turn Helen Cox' Jorge Sanchez at 132 lbs. St. Paul's Sam Dufour attempts to takedown Rummel's Tyler Frame at 145 lbs.

The 160 lbs. final started dangerously for top-seed Brandon Briones of Grace King:

King's Brandon Briones avoided a pin early in the 160 lbs. finals... ...and later pinned Destrehan's Josh Gauthe for the championship.

Ehret's Blaze d'Aquin tries a "fireman's carry" on Rummel's Michael Darwin at 170 lbs. John Brands of St. Paul's pins Rummel's Zack Bowman at 182 lbs.

Belle Chasse had champions in Logan Thompson at 195 lbs. and Robert Kennedy at 220 lbs.

Belle Chasse's Logan Thompson gains position on Ehret's Andrew Blanchard... the 195 lb. finals, won by Thompson by a fall in 1:14.
Left: Belle Chasse's Robert Kennedy pins Destrehan's Raejuan Marbley in 1:41.

Complete results and brackets may be found on the Louisiana High School Wrestling Archives.

Back to Top

© 2012 by Martin Muller

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission