Status: Fini

Teurlings Catholic scores a three-peat
Rebels' Bonin wins fourth consecutive title
March 25th, 2016 | Written by: Editor
Division II

Individual Champions Outstanding Wrestler Final Team Scores Full Brackets

Teurlings Catholic, coached by Kent Masson, Brad Macha and Kirby Lee, won their third consecutive Division II state championship and their fifth in six years at the 2016 LHSAA State Wrestling Championships on February 12th-13th, at the Bossier City CenturyLink Center.  Brock Bonin won his fourth consecutive Division II state title, and he was joined by Trey Hebert and Kynan Sonnier as Rebel state champions.  Colten Sonnier placed second for the Rebels.

Division II Team Champions - Teurlings Catholic Rebels Head Coach Kent Masson with the Brother Melchior Trophy Coach Brad Macha
and Brock Bonin
Teurlings Catholic Coaches
Kent Masson
and Kirby Lee

The team championship in Division II was expected to be very close, particularly with the introduction of the Rummel Raiders to the fray.  Teurlings Catholic lost six seniors who placed at the 2015 state championship, and this season they did not schedule an event until their own Rebel Invitational on November 21st, which was, as odd as it may sound, rained-out.  Meanwhile the Raiders had not placed lower than fifth in Division I since 2003, and they had two of Louisiana's best in sophomores Blake Mateu and Josh Ramirez.

The Rebels, however, had ten place winners, including three state champions and a runner-up.  Rummel won three titles via Mateu, Ramirez and Robert Hudgins, and losing two runners-up in Brandon Willis and Robert Fairchild, but only had three other placers (eight total), one of whom and one did not score any advancement or bonus points after the semifinals.  Additionally, of those three, none placed higher than fifth, whereas the Rebels had two thirds, a fourth and three fifth-place finishers.  Rummel ended up placing third by 17 points to Live Oak.

Runners-up - Live Oak Eagles
It is often said that consolations matches win state titles.  They win runner-up titles as well.

Chris Collier's Live Oak Eagles had two champions in Ean Hill and Ethan Alphonso, and a runner-up in Brennan Webb, but their five other top-six places included two thirds and four fourths.  It was the Eagles, not the Raiders, who took the second place team title for the second time in three years.

Archbishop Shaw placed fourth and had state champions in Cameron Bertot and Matthew Blair, and runners-up in Collin Ballas and Martin Garrett.

Other state titles went to Central's Austin Gouedy (his second), Parkway's Garrett Strozier and Nathan Pitts (his second) and Sam Houston's Andrew Aucoin.

Back to Top

Individual Champions

(Kneeling L-R): Blake Mateu, Ean Hill, Ethan Alphonso, Brock Bonin, Andrew Aucoin.  (Standing L-R): Trey Hebert, Josh Ramirez, Cameron Bertot, Kynan Sonnier, Robert Hudgins, Matthew Blair.  Missing from picture: Austin Gouedy, Garrett Strozier and Nathan Pitts.

Back to Top

Outstanding Wrestler

Division II Outstanding Wrestler
Brock Bonin of Teurlings Catholic
Senior - 138 lbs.
Winning his four matches via a fall in 1:03, technical falls of 16-0 and 19-0, and an 8-0 major decision in the finals, Bonin won his fourth consecutive Division II state championship.  In all except his freshman season, the Rebels won the state team title as well.  In his other three finals appearances Bonin defeated Live Oak's Colt Olinde, who would go on to win two Division II titles, via a 10-2 decision, Parkway's Jason Pitts via a 17-2 technical fall, and Sam Houston's Andrew Aucoin (who won a Division II title immediately after Bonin did) by another major decision of 13-4.

Back to Top

Final Team Scores

Place Team Points
1 Teurlings Catholic 261.5
2 Live Oak 237
3 Rummel 220
4 Shaw 212.5
5 Rayne 188
6 Parkway 167.5
7 Carencro 131.5
8 North Desoto 130
9 Belle Chasse 127.5
10 Haughton 94
11 Sam Houston 90
T-12 East Jefferson 82
T-12 St. Michael 82
14 Benton 78
15 Central 71
16 Huntington 58
17 Bossier 53
18 Riverdale 47
19 Grace King 46
20 Tara 37
21 St. Thomas More 28
22 Caddo Magnet 27.5
23 Pearl River 20
24 Northside 18
25 Northwood 8
26 Eunice 3

Back to Top

© 2016 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.