Division II - 138 pounds: Brock Bonin captures his fourth consecutive Division II title
March 25th, 2016 | Written by: Editor


Teurlings Catholic senior Brock Bonin added his name to an extraordinary list - that of wrestlers who won four consecutive Division II state championships.  Brusly's Tim LeBlanc was the first to do it from 1979 to 1982.  From 1984-87 Hackberry's Ernie Payton accomplished the feat, as did Chad Buras of the Buras Wildcats from 1987-1990.  More important to Bonin, no doubt, was that his accomplishment matched that of one of his coaches, Brad Macha, who won his championships for Redemptorist from 1992-95.  (NOTE: Carmen Cortez of Basile also won four Division II state championships, but his were not consecutive.)  Winning with a first round pin, two technical falls and a major decision, Bonin was voted the Outstanding Wrestler in Division II.  More information on Brock Bonin's career may be found on The Bonin Files.


Brock Bonin owned Division II and Division III this season, and much of Division I as well.  He was 32-2 overall, with his only losses coming to Brother Martin's Taylor Gambill and Jack Stoves of Vestavia Hills, Alabama, in the Trey Culotta Invitational bracket competition (Bonin had defeated both of them in the pool rounds the day before).  Bonin was forced to forfeit his second round Louisiana Classic match with Jesuit's Nathan Koenig due to an injury which also prevented him from competing in the Ken Cole, but two weeks later he won at least his second Lafayette Metro championship (Bonin won in 2014, did not participate in 2015, and the 2013 results are not available).  Of the 32 wins, only the three over Shaw's Collin Ballas, Brother Martin's Taylor Gambill and Jon Storey of Central Phenix, Alabama, did not consist of a fall, a technical fall or a major decision.

Shaw's Collin Ballas, the second seed, won the Jefferson Invitational, was runner-up at the Bulldog Brawl, placed third at the Louisiana Classic, placed fourth at the Spartan Invitational and placed sixth at the Trey Culotta.  His only Division II loss was a 7-3 loss to Bonin in a December 5th dual meet.

Carencro's Taylor Clay had the best tournament of the rest of the weight class.  Seeded eighth, after a Round 2 pin and a quarterfinals loss to Bonin, the freshman pinned Bossier's Zack Teppenpaw in 1:14, fourth-seeded Eddie Williams of Caddo Magnate in 3:24, defeated third-seeded Dawson Mire of Rummel 11-5 and then sixth-seeded Ronald Kimball of East Jefferson to place third.

Place Name School Seed Year
1st Brock Bonin Teurlings Catholic 1 12
2nd Collin Ballas Shaw 2 11
3rd Taylor Clay Carencro 8 9
4th Ronald Kimball East Jefferson 6 11
5th Dawson Mire Rummel 3 10
6th Dalton Driggers Parkway 5 10

1st 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Brock Bonin Brock Bonin Collin Ballas Taylor Clay Ronald Kimball Dawson Mire Dalton Driggers

Friday Rounds

R1: Diggs (HUN) over House (NW) in 3:52.

R2: Constantin (RAY) over Branch (BEN) in 0:48

Back to Top


(1) Brock Bonin (TC) defeated (8) Taylor Clay (CAR) via a 16-0 technical fall.
(5) Dalton Driggers (PKY) pinned (4) Eddie Williams (CAD) in 3:21
(3) Dawson Mire (RUM) pinned (6) Ronald Kimball (EJ) in 2:40.
(2) Collin Ballas (SHW) defeated (7) Drake Constantin (RAY) via a 21-4 technical fall.

Back to Top


(1) Brock Bonin (TC) defeated (5) Dalton Driggers (PKY) via a 19-0 technical fall.
(2) Collin Ballas (SHW) defeated (3) Dawson Mire (RUM) 8-2.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

(8) Taylor Clay (CAR) defeated (6) Ronald Kimball (EJ) 15-10 to win 3rd place.
(3) Dawson Mire (RUM) defeated (5) Dalton Driggers (PKY) 7-5 in Sudden Victory to win 5th place.

Back to Top


(1) Brock Bonin of Teurlings Catholic defeated (2) Collin Ballas of Shaw via an 8-0 major decision.

Back to Top

© 2016 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.