Division II - 152 pounds: Pitts defends 2015 title over Shaw's Albarado for Parkway's second 2016 championship
March 25th, 2016 | Written by: Editor


Parkway's Nathan Pitts successfully defended his 2015 state championship with a tough 3-1 victory over Shaw's Brad Albarado.


Much like the Division I 152 lbs. weight class, this was also primarily a test of two wrestlers.  Parkway's Nathan Pitts won the 145 lbs. Division II championship in 2015 and suffered only one 2015-16 loss in the Ken Cole finals against Joey Foret of Holy Cross.  Pitts won the Jacob McMillan Memorial, the Lone Survivor, the Rayne Invitational and the North Louisiana Regionals.  Albarado won the Raider Invitational, the Mandeville Open and the Jefferson Invitational, placed third at the Spartan Invitational and fourth at the Louisiana Classic.  Albarado did have one win against Foret in their five matches, but the deciding seeding factor in the weight class was Pitts' 13-4 major decision over Lafayette's Thaquan Priestley, whereas Albarado was 1-1 against Priestley.

Live Oak's Jarrett Ruppert placed third, as he was seeded, with a 7-5 win over sixth-seeded Brice Fisher of Belle Chasse.  For fifth place Pearl River's Daniel Seither avenged a 1:07 quarterfinals fall to fourth-seeded Trevor Gunter of Carencro with a fall of his own in 3:34.

Place Name School Seed Year
1st Nathan Pitts Parkway 1 12
2nd Brad Albarado Shaw 2 12
3rd Jarrett Ruppert Live Oak 3 12
4th Brice Fisher Belle Chasse 6 10
5th Daniel Seither Pearl River 5 11
6th Trevor Gunter Carencro 4 12

1st 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Matthew Pitts Matthew Pitts Brad Albarado Jarrett Ruppert Brice Fisher Daniel Seither Trevor Gunter

Friday Rounds

R2: Soto (BEN) over Null (HGT) in 1:01

Back to Top


(1) Nathan Pitts (PKY) pinned Jesu's Soto (BEN) in 1:11.
(4) Trevor Gunter (CAR) pinned (5) Daniel Seither (PR) in 1:07.
(3) Jarrett Ruppert (LO) defeated (6) Brice Fisher (BC) 4-0.
(2) Brad Albarado (SHW) defeated (7) Rodney Nelson (BOS) via a 13-1 major decision.

Back to Top


(1) Nathan Pitts (PKY) pinned (4) Trevor Gunter (CAR) in 3:05.
(2) Brad Albarado (SHW) defeated (3) Jarrett Ruppert (LO) 10-3.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

(3) Jarrett Ruppert (LO) defeated (6) Brice Fisher (BC) 7-5 to win 3rd place.
(5) Daniel Seither (PR) pinned (4) Trevor Gunter (CAR) in 3:24 to win 5th place.

Back to Top


(1) Nathan Pitts of Parkway defeated (2) Brad Albarado of Shaw 3-1.

Back to Top

© 2016 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.