Division III - 170 pounds: Brusly's Mabile picks right event for first tournament win
March 25th, 2016 | Written by: Editor


After runner-up finishes in the Brusly Invitational and the Greater Baton Rouge Championships, Brusly junior Owen Mabile picked a good tournament for his first championship.  Mabile avenged a Brusly Invitational finals loss by pinning De la Salle's Ryan Hamrick in 2:52.


Aside from the one to De la Salle's Hamrick in the Brusly Invitational finals Mabile only had one other Division III loss, but that was at 160 lbs.  His other losses were to Division I opponents, and pretty high-caliber ones at that, including Dutchtown's Luther Jones, Catholic's Jacob Fereday and Holy Cross' Matthew Putnam. Hamrick, however, had not lost to a Division III opponent and his win over Mabile resulted in his #1 seeding.

Kaplan senior Jude Hebert had an up-and-down season which included Division III losses to Mabile, NOMMA's Tyler McNabb and Cooper Derouen of North Vermillion.  In the state championships, though seeded fifth, Hebert beat fourth-seeded Jacob Melancon of John Curtis to reach the semifinals.  That resulted in a loss to Hamrick, but afterward Hebert pinned sixth-seeded Jude Hebert of John Curtis and then he avenged his earlier Brusly Invitational loss to McNabb with a fall in 4:00 to place third.

Place Name School Seed Year
1st Owen Mabile Brusly 2 11
2nd Ryan Hamrick De la Salle 1 10
3rd Jude Hebert Kaplan 5 12
4th Tyler McNabb NOMMA 3 12
5th Wade Barthelemy South Plaquemines 6 12
6th Jacob Melancon John Curtis 4 12

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Owen Mabile Ryan Hamrick Jude Hebert Tyler McNabb Wade Barthelemy Jacob Melancon
 Hebert appeared to be one of the happiest non-champs on the podium

Back to Top


(1) Ryan Hamrick (DLS) pinned (8) Trenton Connor (NV) in 0:57.
(5) Jude Hebert (KAP) pinned (4) Jacob Melancon (JC) in 3:02.
(3) Tyler McNabb (NOMMA) defeated (6) Wade Barthelemy (SPL) via an 18-2 technical fall.
(2) Owen Mabile (BRU) pinned (7) Frederick Rabensteiner (HAN) in 1:15.

Back to Top


(1) Ryan Hamrick (DLS) defeated (5) Jude Hebert (KAP) 12-6.
(2) Owen Mabile (BRU) pinned (3) Tyler McNabb (NOMMA) in 1:28.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

(5) Jude Hebert (KAP) pinned (3) Tyler McNabb (NOMMA) in 4:00 to win 3rd place.
(6) Wade Barthelemy (SPL) defeated (4) Jacob Melancon (JC) win 5th place.

Back to Top


(2) Owen Mabile of Brusly pinned (1) Ryan Hamrick of De la Salle in 2:52.

Back to Top

© 2016 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.