Teurlings Catholic's Brock Bonin wins Louisiana's Dave Schultz Award
July 23rd, 2016| Written by: Editor



Accolades continue for Brock Bonin of Teurlings Catholic.  To go with his four consecutive Division II state championships, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame has recognized Bonin with the Louisiana Dave Shultz High School Excellence Award.  The award was established in 1996 to honor Olympic and World champion Dave Schultz, whose career was cut short when he was murdered in January of 1996.  It is presented annually to a high school senior, and is based equally on outstanding wrestling success, scholastic achievement, and citizenship or community service.

Bonin is the third Division II wrestler to win the award.  Cody Hill of Live Oak won it in 2014, and Parkway had consecutive winners in Kamron Johnson (2005) and Mike Newberg (2006).  The list of winners includes, among others, four-time Division I state champion Paul Klein of Brother Martin (2015), and three-time Division I state champions Tyrek Malveaux of Comeaux (2013), Scott Gibbons of Rummel (2012), Nick Shields of Brother Martin (2008), Richie Dixon of Brother Martin (2000), Roderick Ratcliff of McKinley (1998) and Chad Boudreaux of Rummel (1997).

In his four varsity years wrestling for Teurlings Catholic High School, TrackWrestling records indicate Brock Bonin won 118 matches against only 14 Louisiana losses and three losses to out-of-state competitors.  He became the fifth wrestler to win four consecutive Division II state championships, joining  Brusly's Tim LeBlanc (1979 to 1982), Hackberry's Ernie Payton (1984-87), Chad Buras of the Buras Wildcats (1987-1990) and more importantly for Bonin, Teurlings Catholic Coach Brad Macha, who won four consecutive Division II state championships for Redemptorist from 1992-95.  Among his wins, Bonin defeated 12 wrestlers who would become Louisiana state champions (five of whom would win two state titles). 

In 2016 Bonin was voted the LHSAA State Wrestling Championships Division II Outstanding Wrestler award. 

Year Winner School
2016 Brock Bonin Teurlings Catholic
2015 Paul Klein Brother Martin
2014 Cody Hill Live Oak
2013 Tyrek Malveaux Comeaux
2012 Scott Gibbons Rummel
2011 Mark Pinero Rummel
2010 Michael Love Catholic
2009 Johnny Calcote Rummel
2008 Nick Shields Brother Martin
2007 Kamron Johnson Parkway
Year Winner School
2006 Mike Newberg Parkway
2005 Caleb Levee Mandeville
2004 Vaalyn Jackson Sulphur
2003 Andrew Gruezke Jesuit
2002 Joseph Gulotta Brother Martin
2001 Richie Dixon Brother Martin
2000 Daniel Salter Northshore
1999 Eddie Webb Lafayette
1998 Roderick Ratcliff McKinley
1997 Chad Boudreaux Rummel

Back to Top

© 2016-7 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.