January 28th tournaments summaries
February 1st, 2017| Written by: Editor



Bruin Open Greater Baton Rouge Ketelsen Memorial Lafayette Metro NW Louisiana Regionals Jesse James Southwest Shootout

All of the tournaments summarized below took place on January 28th, 2017.  All photographs, save those from of the Bruin Invitational, were stolen from Facebook posts.

Bruin Open

The Belle Chasse Cardinals won
the third Bruin Invitational
Belle Chasse won two championships and had six others place 2nd through 4th to win the 3rd Bruin Invitational, held at Bonnabel High School.  In a field of 17 teams, the Cardinals scored 163 points, which was nine points more than runner-up John Curtis.  Grace King placed third with 111 points.  Anthony Berlinghoff, at 145 lbs., and Brett Dingler, at 220 lbs., placed first for Belle Chasse. 

East Jefferson's Nicholas Shields won the 132 lbs. championship, coming from behind to pin Grace King's Mauricio Ballesteros in 5:25.  Shields had lost to Ballesteros four times before this match, and was awarded the Outstanding Wrestler award.

Outstanding Wrestler winner
Nicholas Shields of East Jefferson

Weight Winner School   Weight Winner School
106 Colton Kendrick John Curtis   152 Eduardo Garcia Shaw
113 Isaac Suarez Rummel   160 Brandon Turner South Plaquemines
120 Blake Mateu Rummel   170 Joha Anderson John Curtis
126 Grant Gebo De la Salle   182 Jakobe Durant Destrehan
132 Nicholas Shields East Jefferson   195 Alex Ormond De la Salle
138 Dawson Mire Rummel   220 Brett Dingler Belle Chasse
145 Anthony Berlinghoff Belle Chasse   285 Glenwood Hunter Grace King

Back to Top

Greater Baton Rouge Championships

Catholic High School's newest streak of consecutive Greater Baton Rouge Championships now stands at three.  The Bears won three individual titles and outscored the St. Amant Gators 249 to 205 to win the team championship.  East Ascension placed third, followed by Live Oak and Brusly.

Individual Greater Baton Rouge champions Greater Baton Rouge Championships
Runner-up St. Amant Gators
Third-place finisher Clayton Hill of Live Oak

Weight Winner School Weight Winner School
106 Austin Gouedy Central   152 Lance Robinson St. Michael
113 Jeremiah Johnson McKinley   160 Hunter Hawkins St. Amant
120 Camdyn Ingram Live Oak   170 Jacob Fereday Catholic
126 Mason Middleton Live Oak   182 Sage Nugent St. Amant
132 Cameron Carpenter Catholic   195 Mason Rabel Dunham
138 Lance Blanchard Catholic   220 Wesley Brady Zachary
145 Austin Franklin Brusly   285 Jordan Campbell East Ascension

Back to Top

Dale Ketelsen Memorial

Host school St. Paul's dominated the Dale Ketelsen Memorial tournament.  The Wolves scored 225.5 points, which was 83.5 points more than runner-up Brother Martin.  Jesuit was third with 135 points. 

Winning championships for St. Paul's were Brandon Stein (106 lbs.), Connor Oviedo (113 lbs.), Cole Houser (120 lbs.), Jared Thieler (126 lbs.), Shane Ulfers (138 lbs.) and Grant Hughes (145 lbs.).

Brother Martin's Noah Roux (152 lbs.) and Garrett Legendre (220 lbs.) won titles for the Crusaders.

The remaining six winners came from six different programs: Seth Poret of Covington (132 lbs.), Daniel Seither of Pearl River (160 lbs.), Paul Treuting of Jesuit (170 lbs.), Adam Lampo of Fontainebleau (182 lbs.), Trevon Honor of Hahnville (195 lbs.) and Frank Bretey of Hannan (285 lbs.).

Back to Top

Lafayette Metro

 Only 12 points separated three top teams in the Lafayette METRO tournament.  Basile's 143.5 points was 5.5 points better than Comeaux's 138 points, which was only 6.5 points better than North Vermillion's 131.5.  That race, however, was for the runner-up spot.  The Teurlings Catholic Rebels, despite only winning one individual championship, ran away with the championship with 203.5 points, 60 points ahead of the second-place Bearcats.  Colten Sonnier won the 106 lbs. championship, and five other Rebels placed second.  Northside High School hosted the event.

Taylor Clay of Carencro, the 145 lbs. champion, received the Outstanding Wrestler award.

Weight Winner School   Weight Winner School
106 Colten Sonnier Teurlings   152 Kenneth Vidalier North Vermillion
113 Jourdan Theall North Vermillion   160 Jeremiah Brooks Acadiana
120 Brennan Langley Basile   170 Byron Zeno Northside
126 Morgan Manuel Rayne   182 Julius Johnson Kaplan
132 Gavin Christ Basile   195 Austin Stelly Kaplan
138 Isaac Cortez Basile   220 Haven Dominguez Church Point
145 Taylor Clay Carencro   285 Torin Benoit Rayne

Lafayette METRO Champions:
Teurlings Catholic
106 lbs. Champion
Colten Sonnier of
Teurlings Catholic

Basile had three champions, as well as access to a camera.  It is a safe bet that the same camera was used for photos of Rayne's Morgan Manuel.

The runner-up Basile Bearcats Basile's three champions: Christ (132 lbs.), Cortez (138 lbs.) and Langley (113 lbs.) 120 lbs. champion
Morgan Manuel
of Rayne
160 lbs. champion
Jeremiah Brooks of Acadiana

Back to Top

Northwest Louisiana Regionals

Airline was pushed again by Parkway, but the Vikings managed to score 17 more points than the Panthers to win the Northwest Louisiana Regionals championship, held at Parkway.  Airline scored 199 points to Parkway's 182.  North Desoto came in third with 119 points.  For Airline senior Christian Walden, a two-time defending Division I state champion, this was his fourth consecutive NW LA Regionals championship.

The Vikings and Panthers only left three weight classes to be won by other schools.  Lakeside took two of them (Noah Willis at 220 lbs. and D.J. Harvey at 285 lbs.), while Benton took the other (Jordan Myles at 170 lbs.).

Weight Winner School   Weight Winner School
106 Dakota Brace Airline   152 Ryan Huckaby Parkway
113 Peyton Bass Airline   160 Christian Walden Airline
120 Tyler Eckman Airline   170 Jordan Myles Benton
126 Trey Fontenot Parkway   182 Darryl Evans Airline
132 Trevor Tamburo Parkway   195 Matt Salinas Airline
138 Josh Partin Airline   220 Noah Willis Lakeside
145 Toby Fontenot Parkway   285 D.J. Harvey Lakeside

NW LA Regional champions Airline Vikings Four-time champion Christian Walden

Back to Top

Southwest Shootout

Host school Sulphur won the Jesse James Southwest Shootout by six points over Barbe and 15 points over third-place Sam Houston. 

The Golden Tornadoes scored 129 points to Barbe's 123 and Sam Houston's 114.  Runner-up Barbe had five individual champions, Sulphur had four, and Sam Houston and South Beauregard each had two individual champions.

Darion Mitchell of Barbe, a favorite at 220 lbs. in Division I, did not compete in the event.

Weight Winner School   Weight Winner School
106 Coltin Marras Barbe   152 Dustin Doucet Sulphur
113 Jaylen Smith Sam Houston   160 Chase Spooner South Beauregard
120 Christian Satchell Sam Houston   170 Bobby Jicks Barbe
126 Blaine Wright Sulphur   182 Dillon Manuel Sulphur
132 Jarden James Barbe   195 Jace DuFresne Sulphur
138 Haroon Walli Barbe   220 Not Contested N/A
145 Andrew Burch South Beauregard   285 Chandler Crawford Barbe

Back to Top

© 2016-7 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.