Koenig wins first of Jesuit's three championships
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division I, 152 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Jesuit junior Nathan Koenig won the first of three titles for the Blue Jays via an 11-7 victory over Sulphur's Dustin Doucet.

 Last year Nathan Koenig had Nicholas Lirette and Taylor Gambill in his state tournament bracket.  He still had a pretty good sophomore year, placing 4th at state and 2nd at a tough South Walton Border Wars.  This year he had, for the majority of the season, Jake Rando at 152 lbs.  And despite two losses to Rando, one to De LaSalle's Conrad Wyre and one at 160 lbs. against Christian Walden of Airline at 160 lbs., he brought a 30-4 record upon entering the 2017 state championships.  It is possible that not even he thought he had a chance to be a state champion until two weeks before the state tournament.  That was when Rando dropped to 145 lbs. for the Dale Ketelsen Memorial.

Brother Martin junior Noah Roux was seeded second, but it was third-seeded Dustin Doucet of Sulphur who emerged to the finals from the bottom part of the bracket via a 4:33 semifinals fall over Roux.  A winner of 30 matches, Doucet's two losses came at the Louisiana Classic, in which he placed fifth.  Rando was responsible for one of those losses, and the other was to Koenig via a fall in 1:42 in the consolation semifinals.  Doucet did win three tournaments during the season: the Ronnie Suarez District 5A championship, the Jacob McMillan Memorial and the Jesse James Shootout.

Koenig, who placed second at the Warrior Open, sixth at the South Walton Border Wars, second at the Cashio-Shriever and third in the Louisiana Classic, did not have a tournament championship to his credit - until his last one, of course.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Nathan Koenig Dustin Doucet Jeffrey Argrave Cameron Hyde Noah Roux Brennan Sturm
Jesuit Sulphur Holy Cross St. Amant Brother Martin Comeaux
#1 Seed #3 Seed #5 Seed #4 Seed #2 Seed Unseeded
Junior Junior Senior Senior Junior Sophomore

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1 (far left): Cole Young (BR) pinned Micaela Larsson (AIR) in 0:53;
Round 2: #5 Jeffery Argrave (HC) pinned Jackson Hoyle (CHL) in 2:58.

Back to Top


#1 Nathan Koenig (JES) pinned Zion Marable (DUT) in 3:03.
#5 Jeffery Argrave defeated #4 Cameron Hyde (StA) 8-3.
#3 Dustin Doucet (SUL) pinned Tyler Wehrlin (DES) in 3:57.
#2 Noah Roux (BM) pinned #7 Brison Adams (COV) in 3:25.

Back to Top


#1 Nathan Koenig (JES) defeated #5 Jeffery Argrave (HC) 12-6.
#3 Dustin Doucet (SUL) pinned #2 Noah Roux (BM) in 4:33.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C1: Kevin Smith (EA) pinned Jeff Fisackerly (EHR) in 1:47.

C3: #4 Cameron Hyde (StA) defeated Kevin Smith (EA) via a 13-2 Major Decision.
C3: Zion Marable (DUT) defeated Brandon Cosse (ZAC) 11-5.
C3: Brennan Sturm (COM) defeated #7 Brison Adams (COV) 8-4.

C4: Brennan Sturm (COM) defeated Tyler Wehrlin (DES) 5-1.

CSF: Jeffery Argrave (HC) defeated Brennan Sturm (COM) via a 14-1 Major Decision.
CSF: #4 Cameron Hyde (StA) pinned #2 Noah Roux (BM) in 3:45.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#5 Jeffery Argrave (HC) defeated #4 Cameron Hyde (StA) 8-2 to place 3rd.
#2 Noah Roux (BM) defeated Brennan Sturm (COM) 4-1 to place 5th

Back to Top


#1 Nathan Koenig of Jesuit defeated #3 Dustin Doucet of Sulphur 11-7.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.