Airline's Matt Salinas uses a third-round fall to mar Trevon Honor of Hahnville's 16-0 record
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division I, 195 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Matt Salinas won the second championship for host Airline High School with a third-period fall (in 5:18) over top-seeded Trevon Honor of Hahnville.

Hahnville's Trevon Honor, a runner-up to Jesuit's Guy Patron, Jr., in 2016, was 16-0 going into the state championships.  Along the way he won the Louisiana Classic, the Ketelsen Memorial and the District 7A/8A tournaments.  In the state championships Honor scored a fall in 1:16 over Dutchtown's Matthew Johnson, then a 5-0 decision over the eighth-seeded Somon Anderson of Brother Martin in the quarterfinals, and in the semifinals Honor scored a fall in 5:05 over fifth-seeded Thomas Arceneaux of Jesuit.

His finals opponent, Airline's second-seeded junior Matt Salinas, had a very busy season.  Prior to the state championships he had a 46-4 record.  He placed third in the Arlington-Martin tournament in Texas and the Louisiana Classic, second in the Lone Survivor and the Ken Cole, and won championships at the Riot on the Red, the Eagle Open, the Trey Culotta and the Northwest Louisiana Regionals.  His losses were to Dunham's Mason Rabel (twice), to Tyler Carriere of Rayne (they were 1-1 over the season), and to D.J. Monroe of Haughton (Salinas beat Monroe three times during the regular season).  Salinas' run to the finals included a 3:15 fall over Christopher Hart of Zachary, a 5:05 fall against seventh-seeded Devon Clark of East Ascension in the quarterfinals, and  a 5-2 decision in the semifinals over Holy Cross' Spencer Rayes.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Matt Salinas Trevon Honor Thomas Arceneaux Spencer Rayes Edmond Belizaire Gavin Bonilla
Airline Hahnville Jesuit Holy Cross John Ehret McKinley
#2 Seed #1 Seed 5th Seed #3 Seed #4 Seed #6 Seed
Junior Senior Junior Junior Senior Sophomore

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: Christopher Hart (ZAC) pinned Joshua Roy (LAF) in 5:46.
Round 1: Matthew Johnson (DUT) pinned Bailee Creasy (BYD) in 4:41.
Round 1: Parker Smith (CAT) defeated Kyle Boell (FNT) via a 13-5 Major Decision.
Round 2:  #5 Thomas Arceneaux (JES) pinned Jace DuFresne (SUL) in 1:53.

Back to Top


#1 Trevon Honor (HNV) defeated #7 Somon Anderson 5-0.
#5 Thomas Arseneaux (JES) defeated #4 Edmond Belizaire (EHR) 5-1.
#3 Spencer Rayes (HC) Defeated #6 Gavin Bonilla (McK) via a 14-1 Major Decision
#2 Matt Salinas (AIR) pinned #7 Devon Clark (EA) in 5:07

Back to Top


#1 Trevon Honor (HNV) pinned #5 Thomas Arceneaux (JES) in 5:05.
#2 Matt Salinas (AIR) defeated #3 Spencer Rayes (HC) 5-2.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C4: #4 Edmond Belizaire (EHR) defeated #8 Somon Anderson (BM) 6-1.
C4: #6 Gavin Bonilla (McK) pinned #7 Devon Clark (EA) in 2:49.
CSF: #3 Spencer Rayes (HC) defeated #4 Edmond Belizaire 8-5.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#5 Thomas Arceneaux (JES) defeated #3 Spencer Rayes (HC) 5-3 via Tie-breaker # 1 to place 3rd.
#4 Edmund Belizaire (EHR) defeated #6 Gavin Bonilla (McK) 3-1 via Sudden Victory to place 5th.

Back to Top


#2 Matt Salinas of Airline pinned #1 Trevon Honor of Hahnville in 5:18.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.