Corey Dublin wins Jesuit's last title over Amos of Holy Cross
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division I, 285 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

In a defensive battle, Corey Dublin of Jesuit defended his 2016 championship with a 1-0 win over Holy Cross' Randy Amos

It is as if someone asked Jesuit senior Corey Dublin to do something for them, and Dublin's response being "OK, I just need to win the Louisiana Classic and another Division I state championship first."

Dublin's season started with a loss to an Altus, Oklahoma wrestler in the Deep South Bayou duals, but as such losses are not being counted here, Dublin started the season on December 29th and ran off a 12-0 record prior to the state championships.  Ten of those wins were first period falls.  Only Jeremiah James of De LaSalle and Randy Amos of Holy Cross went the whole six minutes with Dublin.  The Jesuit senior defeated James 4-2 in the Louisiana Classic finals, and Amos 3-2 in the last dual meet of the season for the Blue Jays and Tigers.

Dublin's finals opponent was Amos, who had completed a 25-2 season.  Amos did not win any tournaments, but the three he participated in were tough ones.  He placed fifth in the South Walton Border Wars, seventh in the Las Vegas Holiday Classic and third at the Louisiana Classic.  Actually, Amos' match with Dublin in the finals was just for personal satisfaction.  Before it started the Holy Cross Tigers had already won Division I.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Corey Dublin Randy Amos Shane Vallot Jordan Campbell Remy Toups David Hudson
Jesuit Holy Cross Comeaux East Ascension John Ehret Lafayette
#1 Seed #2 Seed #4 Seed #5 Seed #6 Seed #3 Seed
Senior Senior Senior Junior Senior Senior

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: Cameron Cormier (AC)defeated D'Quinn Butler (HNV) 6-3.
Round 1: Luis De Pez (BR) pinned Caleb Jackson (ZAC) in 1:38.
Round 2: #1 Corey Dublin (JES) pinned Slade Manlief (SUL) in 2:16.
Round 2: #3 David Hudson (LAF) pinned Chandler Crawford (BRB) in 1:46.

Back to Top


#1 Corey Dublin (JES) pinned #8 Jamarcus Gay (AIR) in 0:34.
#4 Shane Vallot (COM) pinned #5 Jordan Campbell (EA) in 5:53.
#3 David Hudson (LAF) pinned Jaden Bel (CHL) in 3:30.
#2 Randy Amos (HC) defeated #7 Remy Toups (EHR) in 3:03.

Back to Top


#1 Corey Dublin (JES) pinned #4 Shane Vallot (COM) in 1:47
#2 Randy Amos (HC) defeated #3 David Hudson (LAF) 6-3.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: Luis De Paz (BR) pinned James Warren (FNT) in 2:23.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#4 Shane Vallot (COM) pinned #5 Jordan Campbell (EA) in 3:35 to place 3rd
#7 Remy Toups (EHR) defeated #3 David Hudson (COM) 9-5 to place 5th

Back to Top


#1 Corey Dublin of Jesuit defeated #2 Randy Amos of Holy Cross 1-0

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.