Femmer wins only individual title for Division II team champions Teurlings Catholic
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division II, 145 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

With the #1 and #2 seeds vanquished in the semifinals, #3 George Femmer of Teurlings Catholic met #4 Taylor Clay of Carencro in the finals.  Femmer prevailed via a fall in 4:47 for Teurlings Catholic's sole individual  championship.

Much like the 138 lbs. weight class, neither of the top seeds, #1 Dylan Hezeau of Rummel nor #2 Lance Robinson of St. Michael the Archangel advanced past the semifinals.  Hezeau lost in 1:11 to Carencro sophomore Taylor Clay.  At the Louisiana Classic, Hezeau defeated Clay in 4:20. Also at the Louisiana Classic, the Rummel Raider defeated #2 Lance Robinson 7-3.  Femmer got the 3rd seed over Clay due to a 2-1seasonal series between the two.  Femmer pinned Clay twice, and lost his last match before the state championship 11-5 in the Lafayette Metro Tournament.

Clay's record prior to the state championships was 21-8.  Femmer's record was 42-6.

Clay places third at the Jacob McMillan Memorial and won the Lafayette Metro Tournament (against Femmer).  Femmer placed 2nd at the Teurlings Catholic Rebel Open, the Jacob McMillan Memorial, the Ken Cole and the Lafayette Metro.  He placed third at the Spartan Invitational and at the Trey Culotta.

Back to Top

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
George Femmer Taylor Clay Dylan Hezeau Lance Robinson Anthony Berlinghoff Toby Fontenot
Teurlings Catholic Carencro Rummel St. Michael the Archangel Belle Chasse Parkway
#3 Seed #4 Seed #1 Seed #2 Seed #7 Seed #5 Seed
Senior Sophomore Junior Sophomore Junior Senior

Back to Top


#1 Dylan Hezeau (RUM) pinned #8 Cameron Hebert (LO) in 3:56.
#4 Taylor Clay (CAR) defeated #5 Toby Fontenot (PKY) via a 21-7 Major Victory.
#3 George Femmer (TC) pinned William Teppenpaw (BOS) in 1:31.
#2 Lance Robinson (StM) defeated #7 Anthony Berlinghoff (BC) via a 17-8 Major Decision

Back to Top


#4 Taylor Clay (CAR) pinned #1 Dylan Hezeau (RUM) in 1:11.
#3 George Femmer (TC) defeated #2 Lance Robinson (StM) via a 17-8 Major Decision.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C1: Zachary Perry (GK) pinned Harlon Richardson (CEN) in 1:00.
 C2: #6 William Teppenpaw (BOS) pinned Jordan McCrory (RAY) in 2:44.  At right, Teppenpaw, in a true display of comradery, assures McCrory that he knows what it feels like to lose in the state championships.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#1 Dylan Hezeau (RUM) defeated #2 Lance Robinson (StM) 11-5 to place 3rd.
#7 Anthony Berlinghoff (BC) pinned #5 Toby Fontenot (PKW) in 0:58 to place 5th.

Back to Top


Third-seeded George Femmer of Teurlings Catholic pinned #4 Taylor Clay in 4:47.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.