North Desoto's Chase Bates wins the first state championship for the Griffins
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division II, 152 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

In 2016, North Desoto's Chase Bates was the first state runner-up for the Stonewall, LA school.  In 2017, the third-seeded Griffin became the school's first state champion with a 5-3 victory over top-seeded Eduardo Garcia of Shaw.

Shaw's Eduardo Garcia moved from a fifth-place seeding (and sixth-place finish) in 2016 to being the top seed at 152 lbs. this year.  He brought a record of 16-8 to the state championships with first-place finishes at the Teurlings Catholic Rebel Open (over George Femmer of TCS) and at the Bruin Open.  He placed third at the Mandeville Open and at the Jefferson Parish Invitational.  At the Louisiana Classic, he placed sixth.  Six of his losses were to opponents who won state championships or runner-up spots (Jake Rando of Holy Cross twice, Nathan Koenig of Jesuit, Dustin Doucet of Sulphur, Conrad Wyre of De LaSalle.)  Another was to Grace King's Perry Hawxhurst, who was seeded fourth.  Hawxhurst and Garcia split their two matches during the season, both times in tournaments, and Garcia won the last one.  In the quarterfinals at the state championships, the two wrestled a great match in which Garcia needed a Sudden Victory period takedown to win 7-5.

Parkway's Ryan Huckaby was seeded second due to a Northwest Louisiana Regionals finals pin in 5:29 over third-seeded Chase Bates of North Desoto. Huckaby accepted a bye and then won via a fall in 2:18 and a 20-3 Technical fall to reach the semifinals.  Bates had a harder route, pinning Cordell Johnson of Benton in 2:41 and surviving a 7-4 threat from Belle Chasse's Hugo Lujano.

Bates came in with a record of 16-4.  He placed second at the Spartan Invitational, losing to Brother Martin's Ben Wisniewski.  He won the Riot on the Red with a 10-4 decision over Airlines Tucker Almond in the finals.  He placed fifth at the Ken Cole and, in his last tournament before the state championships, lost the match to Huckaby.

Bates certainly remembered losing that match and this time had other ideas in mind.  He dominated Huckaby, stopping takedown attempts and threatening cradle until he had secured a place in the finals with a 13-7 win.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Chase Bates Eduardo Garcia Perry Hawxhurst Jacob LaFleur Ryan Huckaby Brayden Wilson
North Desoto Shaw Grace King Teurlings Catholic Parkway Central
#3 Seed #1 Seed #4 Seed #5 Seed #2 Seed #7 Seed
Senior Junior Senior Senior Senior Junior

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: Kane Anderson (CAD) pinned Maximus Lowery (LSH) in 1:21.
Round 1: Cordell Johnson (BNT) pinned Dylan Istre (RAY) in 2:33.
Ce Vante Coulter (NW) pinned Alec Hodges (StM) in 0:53.
Round 2: #3 Chase Bates (ND) pinned Cordell Johnson (BNT) in 2:41.

Back to Top


#1 Eduardo Garcia (BC) defeated #8 Mataius Lavine (SH) 12-10.
#4 Perry Hawxhurst (GK) defeated #5 Jacob LaFleur (TC) 8-5.
#3 Chase Bates (ND) defeated #6 Hugo Lujano (BC) 7-4.
#2 Ryan Huckaby (PKY) defeated #7 Brayden Wilson (CEN) via a 20-3 Technical Fall in 3:37.

Back to Top


#1 Eduardo Garcia (SHW) defeated #4 Perry Hawxhurst (GK) 7-5 in Sudden Victory.
#3 Chase Bates (ND) defeated #2 Ryan Huckaby (PKY) 13-7.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: Valon Mull (HAU) defeated Dylan Istre (RAY) 6-1.
C2 Rodney Nelson (BOS) defeated Cordell Johnson (BNT) 706.
Dylan Thibodeaux (CAR) Pinned Maximus Lawery (LSH) in 1:16.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#4 Perry Hawxhurst (GK) defeated (5) Jacob LaFleur (TC) 10-8 in Sudden place 3rd.
#1 Ryan Huckaby (PKY) defeated Braydon Wilson (CEN) via a 13-3 Major Decision to place 5th. 

Back to Top


# 3 Chase Bates of North Desoto defeated #1 Eduardo Garcia of Belle Chasse 5-3.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.