Martin Garrett, another #4 seed, wins a title for Shaw
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division II, 160 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

A runner-up in 2016, Shaw's Martin Garrett was only a fourth-seed this year.  Garrett remedied that with a 7-3 finals victory over Parkway's second-seeded Dalton Driggers.

Top-seeded Daniel Seither, a senior from Pearl River High School, simply, as many kids do, had a bad tournament weekend.  After winning his first match in 3:26, he was upset by eighth-seeded senior Kordell Williams of Carencro in a quick 0:21 quarterfinals pin.  Seither won his first consolation round match against a tough Josh Edwards of Belle Chasse, the sixth seed, but then fell to fifth-seeded Charles Solomon of Rayne 5-1. Seither had 30 wins in the 2016-17 season.  His losses, of which there were only two, came from De LaSalle state runner-up Raekwon Thomas (4-0) and Brother Martin's Paul Elmer (5-1).  His losses were in the finals of the Trygg Memorial and the Jefferson Invitational.  Seither won every other tournament in which he entered: the Pearl River Open, the Mandeville Open, the Bulldog Brawl and the Dale Ketelsen Memorial.

Williams, however, did not make it through the semifinals as he was defeated by 2016 Martin Garrett of Shaw, seeded fourth this year.  Garrett scored a 15-2 Major Decision against Williams to advance to the finals against Parkway's second-seeded Dalton Driggers.  Garrett brought a record of 27-15 into the state championships with victories at the Mandeville Open and the Jefferson Parish Invitational.  He placed third at the Bruin Invitational.

The Parkway junior Huckaby brought a record of 38-3, with two of his losses coming from Airline's Christian Walden and the other to De LaSalle's Conrad Wyre.  Huckaby won the Zachary Big Horse over soon to be Division I runner-up Hunter Hawkins of St. Amant, and won the Evangel Holiday Classic over a Texas opponent.  In the Lone Survivor Huckaby defeated Mataius Lavine of Sam Houston by a Major Decision.  Huckaby was second at the Riot on the Red and the Eagle Open (both losses to Walden in the finals), and his other loss to Wyre was in the finals of the Ken Cole Memorial.  Driggers started off the tournament with falls in 3:02 and 2:40, but then just survived a semifinals match with third-seeded Cody Hickman (ND) via a 6-5 score.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Martin Garrett Dalton Driggers Kordell Williams Cody Hickman Charles Solomon Kross Guillory
Shaw Parkway Carencro North Desoto Rayne Teurlings Catholic
#4 Seed #2 Seed #8 Seed #3 Seed #5 Seed Unseeded
Junior Junior Senior Senior Senior Junior

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: Kross Guillory (TC) pinned Thomas Coreil (StTM) in 5:08.
Round 1: Jacob Johnson (LO) defeated Korey Vogel (RIV) 7-4.
Round 2: #1 Daniel Seither (PR) pinned Kross Guillory (TC) in 3:26.
Round 2: #2 Dalton Driggers (PKY) pinned Jevante Hemphill (NW) in 3:02.

Back to Top


#8 Kordell Williams (CAR) pinned #1 Daniel Seither (PR) in 0:21.
#4 Martin Garrett (SHW) defeated #5 Charles Solomon (RAY) 0-0 via Ultimate Tie-Breaker.
#3 Cody Hickman (ND) pinned Michael Cordana (HNT) in 3:10.
#2 Dalton Driggers (PKY) pinned #7 Keonte Arnett (CEN).

Back to Top


#4 Martin Garrett (SHW) defeated #8 Kordell Williams (CAR) via1502 Major Decision.
#2 Dalton Driggers (PKY) defeated #3 Cody Hickman (ND) 6-5.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C3: Kross Guillory defeated Michael Cardona (HNT) 10-7.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#8 Kordell Williams (CAR) pinned #3 Cody Hickman (ND) in 2:20 to place 3rd.
#5 Charles Solomon (RAY) pinned Kross Guillory (TC) in 3:37 to place 5th.

Back to Top


#4 Martin Garrett of Shaw defeated #2 Dalton Driggers of Parkway 7-3.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.