Rummel's Josh Ramirez caps another undefeated season with his second Division II championship
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division II, 170 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Josh Ramirez of Rummel won his third consecutive state championship (he won a Division I title in 2015 and a Division II title in 2016) by defeating #3 Dane Harter via a 24-9 Technical Fall in 4:33.

Rummel's defending Division II state champion (and the 2015 Division I champion) spent a tad over 4:00 in his three matches to reach the finals.  Going into the tournament Ramirez had a record of 22-0, with victories at the Raider 8, the THC Rebel tournament and the Louisiana Classic.  In fact, it was in the Louisiana Classic that Ramirez came the closest to losing a match, with a 5-4 decision over Brusly's two-time defending Division III state champion Richard Hunter.

On the lower side of the bracket #3 seed Dane Harter of St. Michaels scored an 18-3 technical fall over the second seed, Benton's Jordan Myles.  Harter went into the tournament with a 33-8 record.  He won the Warrior Open, the Spartan Invitational and the Zachary Big Horse tournaments, and placed second at the Warrior Open and the Greater Baton Rouge Championships.  Harter placed third at the Central Wildcat.  In his nine losses he was put against some strong competition.  Three were to current or future state champions (Richard Hunter of Brusly, Sage Nugent of St. Amant and Joey Foret of Holy Cross) and three were to defending or future Division I state runners-up (Brandon Greer of Jesuit, Sidney Mitchell of East Ascension and David Fereday of Catholic).  His other losses were to kids who placed for their teams at the state championships: Thomas Arceneaux of Jesuit (3rd in Division I) and to Belle Chasse's Zachary Edwards (3rd in Division II).

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Josh Ramirez Dane Harter Nicholas Jones Jordan Myles Brice Fisher Carson Sanders
Rummel St. Michael Central Benton Belle Chasse Parkway
#1 Seed #3 Seed #5 Seed #2 Seed #4 Seed #6 Seed
Junior Junior Senior Junior Junior Sophomore

Back to Top


#1 Josh Ramirez (RUM) pinned Christopher Washington (HNT) in 0:33.
#5 Nicholas Jones (CEN) defeated #4 Brice Fisher (BC) 12-10.
#2 Dane Harter (StM) pinned #6 Carson Sanders (PKY) in 2:27.
#2 Jordan Myles (BNT) pinned Dewayne Jones (GK) in 1:38.

Back to Top


#1 Josh Ramirez (RUM) pinned Christopher Washington (HNT) in 0:25.
#3 Dane Harter (StM) defeated #2 Jordan Myles (BNT) via an 18-3 Technical Fall in 6:00.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C1: Payton Clement SHW) pinned Reginald Burns (BOS) in 0:19.
C1: Zachary Womack (LSH) defeated Trent Clark (ND) via a 19-4 Technical Fall in 4:57.
C2: #7 DeWayne Jones (GK) pinned Miles Doucet (RAY) in 2:42.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#5 Nicholas Jones (CEN) defeated #2 Jordan Myles (BNT) 10-9 to place 3rd.
#4 Brice Fisher (BC) advanced via a disqualification of #6 Carson Sanders (PKY) to place 5th.

Back to Top


# Josh Ramirez of Rummel defeated #3 Dane Harter of St. Michael via a 24-9 Technical Fall at 4:33.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.