De LaSalle adds individual titles to the 2017 Division III championship team
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament: Division III
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor



The De LaSalle Cavaliers won their second consecutive Division III championship behind champions Conrad Wyre, Eric Hamrick and Jeremiah James.  Additionally, Jeffrey Hefner, Raekwon Thomas and Ryan Hamrick placed second, and four other Cavaliers placed third or fourth.

(Left to right) Assistant wrestling coach Alex Martin (with beard), head wrestling Coach Rod Cusachs (on phone), assistant wrestling coach Bobby Ledoux, a 2017 National Wrestling Coaches Association "Assistant Coach of the Year" winner, assistant wrestling coach Jason Hamrick (red tie)..

Back to Top

Junior Jourdan Theall of North Vermillion was selected as the Division II Outstanding Wrestler.

Seeded second, Theall received a bye and then scored a 16-0 Technical fall in 2:16 over Jerado Wilson of Evangel.

In his semifinals match he pinned Jamar Brown of De LaSalle in 2:52.

In the finals, Theall defeated defending Division III state Champion Brennen Langley of Basile in an 11-8 match.

Back to Top

The Brusly Panthers placed second to De LaSalle for the second consecutive year.  De LaSalle racked up 252 points to Brusly's 216.5.  St. Louis, with 167 points, and John Curtis with 151.5 points, placed third and fourth, respectively.

For the second year in a row Jimmy Bibles Panthers only placed second, something Brusly, which had won 11 championships in 12 years before the reinvigorated Cavaliers joined the fray.  The Panthers had state champions in Austin Franklin, Owen Mabile and Richard Hunter, and runner-up finishes by David Kent, Calep Balcuns and Brandon Young.

Back to Top

10 years ago

Back to Top

All Brackets in PDF


Place Team Points Place Team Points Place Team Points
1 De LaSalle 252 10 Hannan 55 19 Fisher 24
2 Brusly 216.5 11 Church Point 50 20 NOMMA 23
3 St. Louis 167 12 Thomas Jefferson 40 21 Haynes 20
4 John Curtis 151.5 13 Dunham 38 22 Crescent City 16
5 North Vermillion 139 14 South Plaquemines 36 23 Summerfield 11
6 Ouachita Christian 127.5 15 South Beauregard 34 24 South Cameron 7
7 Basile 127 T-16 Episcopal 32 25 Holy Rosary 3
8 Kaplan 82 T-16 Evangel 32 26    
9 Lakeside 77 18 Loyola College Prep. 29 27    

Back to Top

© 2017 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.