Theall upsets Langley to earn a championship and a Division III OW award
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division III, 113 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor


Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Second-seeded Jourdan Theall, a junior from North Vermillion, upset defending state champion and first-seed Brenan Landry of Basile 11-6.

This weight class was basically a two-man contest between the top-seed and defending state champion Brennan Langley of Basile and second-seeded Jourdan Theall of North Vermillion.  Langley had a record of 18-5 which included wins over David Kent of Brusly, Jamar Brown of De LaSalle and Tyree Morris of St. Amant (twice).  His losses came from Rayne's Cooper Simon (twice), Connor Oviedo of St. Paul's (twice) and Jeremiah Johnson of McKinley, which was a 4-3 affair won by Johnson in the first Tie-breaker round.  Langley placed third at the Central Wildcat Open, second at the Rebel Open, won the Brusly Invitational, placed 4th at the Ken Cole and won the Lafayette Metro (at 120 lbs.).

Theall's record of 28-5 was very similar.  The North Vermillion junior split matches with Oviedo, and lost to Morris, Simon, Kent and Airline's Peyton Bass.  He had wins against Rummel's Isaac Suarez, Brown of De LaSalle and Brusly's David Kent.  Theall won the Jacob McMillan Memorial, placed third at the Brusly Invitational and won the Lafayette Metro (at 113 lbs.).

The last time Langley and Theall met was in the semifinals of the 2016 state championships.  Langley was seeded first and defeated the fourth-seeded Theall 7-5.  Langley went on to win the state championship over Kent while Theall placed fourth via an 8-7 loss to De LaSalle's Jeffrey Hefner.

Langley made the finals after spending 1:22 on the mats in his first two matches.  Theall scored a Technical Fall in 2:16 and a fall in 2:52 to make the finals.

This time, however, it was Theall surviving a finals match in which both wrestlers were momentarily on their backs.  After a timeout for an arm injury, the North Vermillion junior hung-on for an 11-6 win.

Theall's win over the defending state champion earned him the Division III Outstanding Wrestler award.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Jourdan Theall Brenan Langley Jamar Brown Cameron Witherwax Aaron Lau Kolbe Golden
North Vermillion Basile De LaSalle St. Louis Haynes John Curtis
#2 Seed #1 Seed #3 Seed #4 Seed #8 Seed #6 Seed
Junior Senior Sophomore Junior Senior Eighth-grade

Back to Top


#1 Brennan Landry (BAS) pinned #8 Aaron Lau (HAY) in 0:50.
#4 Cameron Witherwax (StL) pinned #5 Shane Dearman (BRU) in 3:12.
#3 Jamar Brown (DLS) pinned #6 Kolbe Golden (JC) in 0:56.
#2 Jourdan Theall (NV) defeated #7 Jerrado Wilson (EVA) via a 16-0 Technical Decision in 2:16.

Back to Top


#1 Brennan Langley (BAS) pinned #4 Cameron Witherwax in 0:32.
#2 Jourdan Theall pinned #3 Jamar Brown (DLS) in 2:52.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: #7 Jerrado Wilson (EVA) defeated Lance Laurentz (SBR) 7-4.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#3 Jamar Brown (DLS) defeated #4 Cameron Witherwax 6-0 to place 3rd.
#8 Aaron Lau (HAY) pinned #6 Kolbe Golden (JC) in 0:33.

Back to Top


#2 Jourdan Theall of North Vermillion defeated #1 Brennan Langley of Basile 11-6.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.