Maturin garners second title for himself and North Vermillion
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division III, 132 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Top-seeded Rhett Maturin of North Vermillion won his second title with a 10-3 finals victory over second-seeded Michael Gordy of Ouachita Christian.

This was basically a two-man contest between defending state champion Rhett Maturin and sophomore Michael Gordy of Ouachita Christian.

Maturin, the top seed, started the season late with his first match on December 17th.  After that he compiled an 18-2 record which included a win at the Jacob McMillan Memorial and third-place finishes at the Ken Cole and the Lafayette Metro tournament.  His two losses came to Brother Martin's Steven Shields (a 5-3 match) and to Comeaux's Dylan Ames, who did not compete in the Division I 132 lbs. class at the state championships.

Michael Gordy of Ouachita Christian entered the tournament with a 20-7 record.  His losses came to very good opponents like Airline's Josh Partin, Brother Martin's Matt Williams.  His main concern was that the senior Maturin had defeated him twice in the Ken Cole by scores of 14-5 and then, in the consolation finals, 5-2 after a Tie-breaker round.  This finals match was like the first match as Maturin was one point shy of a Major decision, winning 10-3 to earn his second Division III state title.

Next season Maturin will be gone, and Gordy, third-seeded Brendan Wilcox of John Curtis, Noah Berryhill of St. Louis and Ethan Cascio of Brusly, sophomores for this tournament, will have two years left to get to the top of the awards podium.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Rhett Maturin Michael Gordy Ethan Cascio Brendon Wilcox Noah Berryhill Deionisio Talbot
North Vermillion Ouachita Christian Brusly John Curtis St. Louis Hannan
#1 Seed #2 Seed #5 Seed #3 Seed #4 Seed #7 Seed
Senior Sophomore Sophomore Sophomore Sophomore Sophomore

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: #6 Matthew Sonnier (BAS) defeated Charles Parker (NOMMA) via a 19-9 Major Decision.
#7 Deionisio Talbot (HAN) defeated Zachary Biggs (SUM) via a 17-6 Major Decision.

Back to Top


#1 Rhett Maturin (NV) pinned Andrew Young (DLS) in 1:35.
#5 Ethan Cascio (BRU) defeated #4 Noah Berryhill (StL) 6-4.
#3 Brendon Wilcox (JC) pinned #6 Matthew Sonnier (BAS) in 1:40.
#2 Michael Gordy (OC) pinned #7 Deionisio Talbot (HAN) in 2:43.

Back to Top


#1 Rhett Maturin (NV) pinned #5 Ethan Cascio (BRU) in 2:44.
#2 Michael Gordy (OC) defeated #3 Brendon Wilcox (JC) 6-3.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: #4 Noah Berryhill (StL) defeated Charles Parker (NOMMA) via a 15-0 Technical Fall in 4:07.
CSF: #5 Ethan Cascio (BRU) pinned #7 Deionisio Talbot (HAN) in 2:34.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

 CSF: #5 Ethan Cascio (BRU) pinned #3 Brendon Wilcox (JC) in 3:56 to place 3rd.
 #4 Noah Berryhill (StL) pinned #7 Deionisio Talbot (HAN) in 3:15 to place 5th.

Back to Top


#1 Rhett Maturin of North Vermillion defeated #2 Michael Gorsy of Ouachita Christian 10-3.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.