Turner uses Tie-breaker-1 to win second title 10-9
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division III, 160 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals 3rd and 5th Finals

South Plaquemines' Brandon Turner became the Hurricanes' first two-time state champion with a 10-9 win, after the first Tie-breaker round, over top-seeded Raekwon Thomas of De LaSalle.

Although he was a defending state champion, South Plaquemines' Brandon Turner was seeded second at this event to Raekwon Thomas of De LaSalle.  Turner had a decent record of 25-7 going into the tournament, but Thomas' was much better at 40-2.

Turner won the Bruin Open, finished second at the Mandeville Open, third at the Brusly Invitational, fourth at the Trygg Memorial and sixth at the LA Classic.

Thomas won the Trygg Memorial and the Brusly Invitational, as well as the GNO D III District tournament.  He finished second at the Louisiana Classic and the Ken Cole, the events that handed him his two losses (to Airline's Christian Walden at the LA Classic) and St. Amant's Hunter Hawkins at the Ken Cole).

Finishing better than Turner in three tournaments would have gave Thomas the top spot, and that choice was strengthened by defeating four common opponents who defeated Turner during the season.

Thomas breezed to the finals via a forfeit and falls in 2:00 and 0:46.  Turner's path was more difficult.  He started with a fall in 3:36, but then went six minutes in a 16-4 Major Decision.   In the semifinals, he met a very tough Connor Costello from Ouachita Christian, and eked out an 11-10 win.  Turner, however, does not fear close matches.  In 2016, he defeated De LaSalle's Landon Dorsey in the 152 lbs. finals via a 6-4 match decided in a Sudden Victory period.  In the 2017 finals, Turner and Thomas were tied after the first six minutes and after a Sudden Victory round.  It took the first Tie-breaker round for Turner to emerge as the winner.  The 10-9 win gave the junior Turner his second Division III title.

Back to Top

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Brandon Turner Raekwon Thomas Connor Costello Tyler Broussard William Gage Chase Spooner
South Plaquemines De LaSalle Ouachita Christian North Vermillion St. Louis South Bearegard
#2 Seed #1 Seed #3 Seed #6 Seed Unseeded #4 Seed
Junior Senior Junior Junior Sophomore Freshman

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 1: #8 Cameron Berzas (BAS) pinned Chance Sumner (SUN) in 2:16

Back to Top


#1 Raekwon Thomas (DLS) pinned #8 Cameron Berzas in 2:00.
#4 Chase Spooner (SBR) defeated #5 Brandon Mockbee (JC) 13-10.
#3 Connor Costello (OC) pinned #6 Tyler Broussard of North Vermillion.
#2 Brandon Turner (SPQ) defeated #7 Taylor Fulch (LKS) via a 14-4 Major Decision,

Back to Top


#1 Raekwon Thomas (DLS) pinned #4 Chase Spooner (SBR) in 0:46.
#2 Brandon Turner (SPQ) defeated #3 Connor Costello (OC) 11-10.

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#3 Connor Costello (OC) defeated #6 Tyler Broussard (NV) via a 15-5 Major Decision to place 3rd.
William Gage (StL) defeated #4 Chase Spooner (SBR) to place 5th.

Back to Top


Second seeded Brandon Turner of South Plaquemines defeated Top seed Raekwon Thomas of De LaSalle via a 10-9 Tie-breaker 1 match.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.