In a repeat of the 2016 finals, Brusly's Owen Mabile again bests Ryan Hamrick of De LaSalle
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division III, 170 Pounds
May 12th, 2017 | Written by: Editor

Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Brusly senior Owen Mabile won his second consecutive Division III championship with a 7-4 decision over De LaSalle's second-seeded Ryan Hamrick.

In the 2016 Brusly Invitational Ryan Hamrick of De LaSalle defeated Owen Mabile 9-4 in the finals.  By virtue of that match Ryan was seeded 1st at 170 lbs. while Mabile was seeded in the number two spot.  In the state finals, however, it was Mabile taking the title with a fall in 2:32.   This year, the seedings were reversed, as Mabile was seeded first and Hamrick was second.  Mabile sealed the top-spot due to a 9-4 finals win over Hamrick in the Brusly Invitational and a 9-4 win in the Hurricane 8.

In his 28-11 season Hamrick placed third at the Cashio-Shriever, 2nd at the Hurricane 8, 2nd in the Brusly Invitational and he won the GNO D III District championship.

Mabile brought a 38-10 record to the tournament which included a first-place finish at the Hurricane 8, where he defeated Hamrick 9-4.  Mabile placed 5th at the Louisiana Classic, and before that won the Brusly Invitational, which included winning the event via a 13-3 Major Decision over Hamrick.

Neither had easy roads to the finals.  Hamrick received a bye and a forfeit to make the quarterfinals match versus Kaplan's Trae Case.  Hamrick won, but wrestled the full six minutes in an 8-0 Major Decision.  Mabile had a bye, a pin at 5:28 and then scored a Technical Fall over South Beauregard's 17-0.

The finals were close, though, with Mabile notching his second state championship 7-4.  Barring an injury, look for Hamrick to do very well in the 2018 state championship.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Owen Mabile Ryan Hamrick Joha Anderson Troy Bourgeois Trae Case Cole Spooner
Brusly De LaSalle John Curtis Fisher Kaplan South Beauregard
#1 Seed #2 Seed #7 Seed #4 Seed #3 #5 Seed
Senior Junior Sophomore Senior Junior Junior

Back to Top

Early Championship Rounds

Round 2: Owen Mabile (BRU) pinned Luke Scoggins (DUN) in 4:23.

Back to Top


#1 Owen Mabile (BRU) pinned #8 Dorion Sylve (SPQ) in 5:28.
#5 Cole Spooner (SBR) pinned #4 Troy Bourgeois (FSH) in 3:00.
#3 Trae Case (KAP) pinned #6 Trenton Connor (EPI) in 1:44.
#2 Ryan Hamrick (DLS) defeated #7 Joha Anderson (JC) via a 16-4 Major Decision.

Back to Top


#1 Owen Mabile (BRU) defeated #5 Cole Spooner (SBR) via a 17-0 Technical Fall in 4:33.
#2 Ryan Hamrick (DLS) defeated #3 Trae Case (KAP) via an 8-0 Major Decision.

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: Luke Scoggins pinned David Duplechin (HAN) in 1:32.
C2: Troy Singleton (SUM) pinned Eli Poole (LCP) in 1:51

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

#7 Joha Anderson (JC) defeated #4 Troy Bourgeois (FSH) 10-4 to place 3rd.
#3 Trae Case (KAP) pinned #5 Cole Spooner (SBR) to place 5th.

Back to Top


#1 Owen Mabile of Brusly defeated #2 Ryan Hamrick of De LaSalle 7-4.

Back to Top

© 2016-17 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.