Panthers and Rebels tie for Division II team championship
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament: Division II
May 30th, 2018 | Written by: Editor



All Division II Brackets in PDF

Parkway and Teurlings Catholic battled back-and-fourth all season.  In Lafayette, Parkway won the Jacob McMillan by 57 points over Teurlings Catholic, who placed third.  In Bossier City the Rebels won the Lone Survivor, hosted by Parkway, who placed second by 50 points.  At the Louisiana Classic, Teurlings Catholic tied for 6th-place while Parkway was 11th, 27 points behind the Rebels.  In that event the Rebels only entered 10 wrestlers while the Panthers entered 13.  Parkway won the Ken Cole Invitational with 176.5 points, 29.5 points more than Teurlings Catholic managed while placing 5th.  This time Teurlings Catholic entered 14 wrestlers while Parkway had only 13.

In the state championships each school entered a full 14-man team.  The last tie for a state tournament team title was in 1988 when Bonnabel, Holy Cross and Jesuit tied for the Division I team championship.

Division II co-champions Parkway Panthers (left) and Teurlings Catholic Rebels.

Left: Parkway coach Emmet Beggs hold the Division II team championship trophy.  Right: Teurlings Catholic supporters.

Back to Top

The Panthers only had one champion, Dalton Driggers at 160 lbs., who defeated Shaw's defending state champion Martin Garrett 7-3 en route to winning the Division II Outstanding Wrestler award.  Zachary Harper, Trevor Tamburo, Kaleb Garcia and Peyton Miller placed second.

Teurlings Catholic had two champions.  Colton Sonnier won at 113 lbs. and Miles Santiago did at 285 lbs.  Matthew Carrier, Brett Schneider and Carlos Femmer placed second for the Rebels.

After defeating defending state champion Martin Garrett of Shaw, Dalton Driggers of Parkway was voted the Outstanding Wrestler in Division II.  Left: Driggers with Parkway coach Emmet Beggs.

Back to Top

Rayne had the most state champions with three: Cooper Simon at 126 lbs., Morgan Manuel at 132 lbs. and Tyler Carriere at 195 lbs.  Simon and Carriere were 2017 state champions as well.  Live Oak had two champions in their third-place team finish.  At 106 lbs. Clayton Hill won, as did Camdyn Ingram at 152 lbs., keeping his undefeated Louisiana record in tact.    Rummel's now three-time Division II champion Blake Mateu won at 120 lbs., North Desoto sophomore Richard Mack, III, won at 138 lbs. and Eduardo Garcia did the same at 170 lbs.  St. Michael's Dane Harter kept his record at 182 lbs. unscathed.  At 220 lbs. Haughton senior D.J. Monroe won a state title in his third finals match. 

Final Team Scores

Place Team Points Place Team Points Place Team Points
T-1 Parkway 244.5 9 North Desoto 99 17 St. Thomas More 36
T-1 Teurlings Catholic 244.5 10 Haughton 92.5 18 Northside 24
3 Live Oak 171.5 11 St. Michael 89 19 NOMMA 23
4 Rayne 153 12 Sam Houston 87 20 Huntington 21
5 Shaw 149 13 Benton 53.5 21 Pearl River 17
6 Belle Chasse 142.5 14 Northwood 46 22 Caddo Magnate 16
7 Rummel 106 15 Bossier 42.5 23 East Jefferson 11
8 Carencro 103.5 16 Lakeshore 38 24    

Back to Top

© 2018 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.