Persistent Matherne get his state championship bracket
LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament
Division III, 145 Pounds
May 30th, 2018 | Written by: Editor

Weight Class Synopsis Early Championship Rounds Quarterfinals Semifinals Consolation Rounds 3rd and 5th Finals

Matthew Matherne wasted little time in securing his state championship with a fall in 2:00.

Place 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Name Matthew Matherne Andrew Verrett Deionisio Talbot Hunter Richey Zachary Biggs Charles Carr
School Ouachita Christian St. Louis Hannan Brusly Summerfield De la Salle
Seed 1 2 4 3 7 8
Class Senior Senior Junior Senior Senior Senior

Weight Class Synopsis

This weight class featured Ouachita Christian's Matthew Matherne in his fifth consecutive Division III finals.  In the previous four years he lost to Austin Franklin three times and Kendon Kayser once, each from Brusly High School.  In 2016 he had every reason to think he could have won at 132 lbs., as he had earlier beaten De la Salle's Glen Gebo, who won the 2016 state championship at 132 lbs.  Matherne, however, does not avoid challenges.  Hence, he stayed at 126 to meet Kayser.  In 2017 he might have dropped to 138 lbs., as he had previously defeated St. Louis' Robert Christman, who won the 138 lbs. championship that year, but he opted for another match against Franklin.

In the 2017-18 season Matherne lost only two matches while winning 39.  His losses were to Live Oak sophomore Camdyn Ingram in a 152 lbs. match, and to Brother Martin's Patrick Evans in the Louisiana Classic finals at 145 lbs.  During the year he beat 145 lbs. finalist Nakie Brown of St. Amant twice, Dylan Ames of Comeaux, Fernando Diaz of Brother Martin and soon-to-be Division II state champion Taylor Clay of Carencro.  He won seven of the 10 tournaments he entered.  Ingram, Evans and an out-of-state wrestler kept him from winning the other three.  His record placed him as the second-best wrestler at 145 lbs. this season, and naturally put him atop the Division III 145 lbs. bracket.  Matherne waltzed into the finals via a forfeit, a fall in 1:49 and a 16-3 major decision.

St. Louis senior Adam Verrett brought a 32-7 record into the state championships.  His losses were to very good Division I and Division II opponents, but there was one loss to a Division III wrestler.  That was Matherne, who won the Brusly Invitational over Verrett with a 22-7 technical fall.  Seeded second, Verrett earned another chance against Matherne by also using a forfeit, then a 9-2 quarterfinals decision and a 13-1 major decision in the semifinals.

Matherne started quick using a single-leg to double-leg takedown which gave him immediate access to a half-nelson and a 5-0 lead.  Christman escaped from that predicament only to be turned by a bar-arm chicken-wing, which netted Matherne three more nearfall points and an 8-0 lead.  Matherne let Verret escape, which was the St. Louis wrestler's only point of the match.  In the next few seconds Matherne controlled Verrett's head and shoulder, pulled him to his back and scored a fall as time ran out in the first period.  Matherne may only have one state championship title to his credit, but over the years he has proved to be one of the most successful wrestlers in North Louisiana.  He is a prime example of the strength and superb coaching of the Ouachita Christian wrestling program, which only started in 2014 and remains the only wrestling program in the Monroe, Louisiana area.

Fourth-seeded Deionisio Talbot of Hannan needed only 35 seconds to advance to the consolation finals over Summerfield's Zachary Biggs.  There he met Brusly's Hunter Richey, the third-seed, who had a harder time with Charles Carr of De la Salle, winning 5-1.  Talbot proved too strong for Richey, though, as the Hannan wrestler scored a fall in 3:00 to place third.  Biggs rebounded and defeated Carr 6-3 to place fifth.

Early Championship Rounds

R1: (8) Charles Carr (DLS) over Jakazian Stewart (KAP) in 1:57
R1: (4) Deionisio Talbot (HAN) over Wes Coleman (EPI) in 1:03

Back to Top


(1) Matthew Matherne (OC) over (8) Charles Carr (DLS) in 1:49
(4) Deionisio Talbot (HAN) over (5) Dawson Ashford (BAS) 5-2
(3) Hunter Richey (BRU) over (6) Braxton Hebert (NV) 3-2
(2) Andrew Verrett (STL) over (7) Zachary Biggs (SUM) 9-2

Back to Top


(1) Matthew Matherne (OC) over (4) Deionisio Talbot (HAN) 16-3 MD
(2) Andrew Verrett (STL) over (3) Hunter Richey (BRU) 13-1 MD

Back to Top

Consolation Rounds

C2: (8) Charles Carr (DLS) over Jake Scherer (BLT) in 0:21
CSF: (4) Deionisio Talbot (HAN) over (7) Zachary Biggs (SUM) in 0:35

Back to Top

Championship Consolation Rounds

(4) Deionisio Talbot (HAN) pinned (3) Hunter Richey (BRU) in 3:00 to place 3rd
 (7) Zachary Biggs (SUM) defeated (8) Charles Carr (DLS) 6-3 to place 5th

Back to Top


(1) Matthew Matherne of Ouachita Christian pinned (2) Andrew Verrett of St. Louis in 2:00

Back to Top

© 2017-18 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.