Saturday's tournaments had two Division II teams "serve notice" and two unexpected upsets
November 4th, 2018| Written by: Editor



After Saturday's tournament it is time to remember that when wrestlers are cited for losing a match, it means they are very good, and the loss was unexpected.  But it is early in the season, and odds dictate that very few of the wrestlers will end the season in the weight classes in which they participated on Saturday.

St. Michael Warrior Open

(Photographs stolen from Laura Brownell, Tony Ingram, Chase Cox and Brandon Surrency.)

Two such losses occurred at the Warrior Open, and a third one was avoided via a one-point victory.  The first loss was by Catholic's 2018 Division I state champion Luke Romano.  In the 132 lbs. weight class, Romano lost in the quarterfinals (his third match of the day) to Live Oak freshman Rayden Ingram 10-7.  Later this season, that might not be as newsworthy as it is now.  Rayden is the younger brother of Live Oak junior Camdyn Ingram, who was undefeated in Louisiana in the 2017-18 season (his only loss was a one-point decision to an out-of-state opponent at the Deep South Bayou Duals), and handily won the 2018 Division II state championship.  Last summer, Camdyn placed second in the Fargo Cadet Greco-Roman event, and started this season ranked as the #2 Greco-Roman wrestler in the country.  Hence, it makes perfect sense that his younger brother should be a force with which to reckon.  Ingram the Younger lost in the finals to Airline's 2018 Division I runner-up Peyton Bass via an 8-2 decision.  Despite that Romano had previously won two matches he was only eligible to win fifth-place, which he did with an 11-3 major decision over East Ascension's Jamarius Koshko.

Warrior Open Outstanding Wrestlers Corey Brownell of St. Amant and Camdyn Ingram of Live Oak.

Another upset was recorded in the 120 lbs. finals.  St. Amant junior Corey Brownell, who was one match away from placing in the 2018 Division I state championships, used a Sudden Victory period to defeat Division II 106 lbs. state champion Clayton Hill, 14-9 (photo left)

Ingram the Elder had a scare in the 160 lbs. finals, defeating the 2018 Division II state runner-up Lance Robinson of St. Michael by a mere point,10-9.

For their efforts Brownell and Ingram the Elder were voted the tournament's Outstanding Wrestlers.

Airline Warrior Open champion Peyton Bass.  Shaw placers Michael Seal (consolations champion), Raheem Bonnett (1st), Glenn Price (1st), Ashton Surrency (1st) and Justin Gaubert (3rd).  St. Amant Gators champions Nicholas Fuselier, Corey Brownell and Hunter Hawkins. 

Archbishop Shaw served notice that they should not be taken lightly in Division II.  The Eagles had three champions: Glenn Price at 106 lbs., Raheem Bonnett at 113 lbs. and Ashton Surrency at 126 lbs.

Joining Brownell as champions for St. Amant were Hunter Hawkins at 170 lbs. and Nicholas Fuselier at 220 lbs.

East Ascension's Mahoney brothers, Brad and Trent, won consecutive titles at 145 lbs. and 152 lbs.  Christian Satchell of Sam Houston won at 138 lbs., Trace Morrow of Summerfield won at 182 lbs., Jesuit's Daren Ferrier topped the 195 lbs. weight class and Lafayette's Jackson Carter won the last finals match at 285 lbs.

Back to Top

Raider 8

Brother Martin won a tournament on Saturday.  Get used to that. 

At the Raider 8 a young Crusader team won with only two champions, once again proving championships do not win tournaments.  It did help, however, that the Crusaders had five runners-up, and they won the event by 7.5 points over a young St. Paul's team.

Quinn Williams won at 126 lbs. and Jason Evans did the same at 195 lbs. for the Crusaders.  Brusly won the most titles with four, as Kaul Kayser, Marc Martinez, Dainta Heard and Matthew Ganaway won for the Panthers.  St. Paul's only had one champion in Trey Faherty, but they nipped the Panthers for second place by three points.  Catholic won three consecutive championships.  Toby Richard won at 152 lbs., followed by A.J. Sabine at 160 lbs. and Andrew Evans at 170 lbs.  Bonnabel and Rummel had two champions apiece.  Sergio Maldonado and Malik Smith won for the Bruins, while Chris Montalbano and Jacob Ramirez won for the Raiders.

Back to Top

Lakeshore Open

While no team scores were kept, Belle Chasse might have been the overall winner of the Lakeshore Open, making a statement that they should not be discounted in Division II.  Fontainebleau can lay claim to winning the team title as well.  The Cardinals had four champions, two runners-up and two third-place winners.  The Bulldogs had three champions, five runners-up and one third-place winner.  In two weight classes the Cardinals place first and second, and first and third.  The Bulldogs had one instance where they placed first and second in one weight class.  As there were no limits as to how many participants from a school could compete in a weight class, the team scenarios are basically meaningless.

The Cardinal champions were Francisco Castro, Brady Williams, Gabriel Triguero and Gavin Crossen.  The Bulldogs had champions in David Cuccia, William Broussard and Jake Stelly.  Chalmette had two champions in Deven Durham and DaiJon Bibbs.  The home team had two champions - Keith Bagent and Isaiah Chatelain.  Covington had a winner in Andrew Nixon.  Only twelve weight classes were contested in the event, as there were no entrants in the 106 lbs. and 170 lbs. weight classes.

Back to Top

© 2018-9 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.