East Ascension, Parkway, Basile and Teurlings Catholic win weekend events
January 11th, 2020 | Written by: Editor



Battle of New Orleans Brusly Division III Big Cat Brawl Greg Lavergne Lafayette Parish Duals

Battle of New Orleans

Without a doubt the Battle of News Orleans tournament had trophies every bit as neat as the alligator head ones for the Deep South Bayou Duals.  Individuals got a square piece of marble emblazoned with the tournament's name and the weight class won.  To the editor's knowledge, this is the only metamorphic tournament trophy (and yet he still believes he learned nothing in petrology classes at UT-Austin).  The team and Outstanding Wrestler award consisted of one to two canons and a replica of the Chalmette Battlefield Monument  If one looks closely and sees the threads inside the canon, one can see they are constructed with the end of curtain rods.  The trophies were created by local metal artist Luis Colmenares.

Despite winning six of the first seven finals matches and scoring 201 points, Holy Cross came eight points short of beating the East Ascension Spartans for the team championship at the 2020 Battle of New Orleans.  The Spartans, who scored 209 points, won five of the remaining eight finals matches.  Covington's Christopher Allen, Hahnville's Logan Brimmer and Chalmette's Jaden Ben won the remaining three championship matches.  Fontainebleau and Hahnville took fourth and fifth place.

East Ascension brought 13 scoring wrestlers while Holy Cross brought 12.  That does not guarantee, however, anything would have changed in the team results had each team had 14 members.

Champions - East Ascension Spartans Runners-up - Holy Cross Tigers

Host Chalmette placed third and had five finalists, although Ben was their sole champion.

Remaining undefeated in Louisiana are the Frost brothers of Holy Cross, Trent Mahoney of East Ascension, Christopher Allen of Covington and Logan Brimmer of Hahnville.

Covington's Christopher Allen was voted the tournament's Outstanding Wrestler.

Weight Champion (School) Runner-up (School) Score
106 Brandon Gainey (HC) Anthony Perez (CHL) 12-2 MD
113 Evan Frost (HC) David Cuccia (FNT) 16-1 TF
120 Jacob Frost (HC) Trey Silva (CHL) Fall in 1:50
126 Dylan Lauriano (HC) Dominic Spizale (LKS) 4-2
132 Charles Sauerwin (HC) Deven Durham (CHL) 6-3
138 Jamarius Koshko (EA) Jevon Gray, Jr. (HNV) Fall in 0:21
145 Cameron Doyle (HC) Austin Turner (DES) Fall in 5:44
152 Brad Mahoney (EA) Mohammed Abdelhaq (CHL) 3:35
160 Santos Ramos (EA) Carsyn Price (TER) Fall in 1:19
170 Trent Mahoney (EA) John Encardes (FNT) Fall in 1:08
182 Jeremiah Good (EA) Tyler Autin (JES) Fall in 0:44
195 Christopher Allen (COV) Tanner Melendrez (FNT) 4-2
220 Logan Brimmer (HNV) Logan Ahlborn (FNT) 8-2
285 Jaden Ben (CHL) Gavin Soniat (EA) 4-3 TB-1

Trent Mahoney and Jeremiah Good The Mahoney's (Coach Pat, Brad, Trent, Jamarius and Pat Jr.) and Jamarius Koshko

Back to Top

Brusly Division III

A close-to-full team (13 wrestlers) makes all the difference Basile needs to go from an eighth-place finish at the Trey Culotta Invitational (nine wrestlers) to dominating the Brusly Division III Tournament.  The Bearcats scored 208 points to win by 46 over runner-up Brusly.  St. Louis, John Curtis and De la Salle placed third through fifth, respectively.

The Bearcats and Panthers each had four champions.  The Bearcats, though, had three runners-up while the Panthers had none.  Each team had two third-place winners.

Brusly Division III Champions - Basile Bearcats Individual Bearcat champions Blake Menier, Alex Menier, Andrew Johnson and Isaac Cortez

Evangel Placers Michael Gilbreath - 2nd at 145 lbs. Jax Miller 3rd at 220 lbs. Thomas Bean (went 3-2) at 138 lbs. Trey White over Norman Drake (JC) in the semifinals White pins Tony Gibson (CHP) in the finals

Alex Yokubaitis of St. Louis and Josh Westly of Brusly won the Outstanding Wrestler awards.

Shad Sheffie of St. Michael won his three matches in 15 second, 14 seconds and 13 seconds.  If he keeps up that pace, in 13 more matches he will just receive forfeits.

Weight Champion (School) Runner-up (School) Score
106 Andrew Johnson (BAS) Preston Curtis (JC) Fall in 1:58
113 Dohnavan McMichael (StL) Cameron Selmon (StM) Fall in 2:45
120 Alex Menier (BAS) Collin Veron (DLS) Fall in 3:11
126 Alex Yokubaitis (StL) Brevan Fields (BAS) Fall in 0:31
132 Blake Menier (BAS) Keyshawn Jones (StL) Fall in 3:12
138 Calep Balcuns (BRU) Zachary Lauland (DLS) Fall in 3:26
145 Caden Gaudet (JC) Michael Gilreath (EVA) 8-2
152 Andrew Trahan (BRU) Hunter Langley (BAS) 10-2 MD
160 Joshua Westly (BRU) John Reina (StL) Fall in 5:13
170 Shad Sheffie (StM) Jacob Queflander (BAS) Fall in 0:13
182 Isaac Cortez (BAS) Trace Morrow (SUM) Fall in 1:07
195 Chase Spooner (SB) Kemal Robinson (StL) Fall in 0:54
220 Brian Amis (BRU) Demond Garner (StM) Fall in 5:55
285 Trey White (EVA) Tony Gibson (CHP) Fall in 3:23

Back to Top

Big Cat Brawl

Parkway had seven champions and four runners-up among their 282 points, which were 100 points more than they needed to win the Big Cat Open.  Byrd placed second with 181 points, followed by Airline, Houston Strake Jesuit and Haughton.  Evangel's Trey White remained undefeated at 15-0

Big Cat Champions - Parkway Panthers Peyton Miller - 1st at 220 lbs. and voted Outstanding Wrestler

Weight Champion (School) Runner-up (School) Score
106 David Viers (PKY) J.W. Fuller (BYD) Fall in 5:30
113 Patrick Durias (STR) Garrett Larsen (PKY) Fall in 0:48
120 Joshua Keeler (PKY) Memphis Brace (AIR) Fall in 1:25
126 Jordan Clark (PKY) Philip Junghans (STR) 4-1
132 Brandon Turner (PKY) Mason Lambright (AIR) Fall 4:56
138 Demetri Teddie (BYD) Andrew Tamburo (BRU) Fall in 5:51
145 Joshua Franklin (AIR) Hayden Wood (PKY) 6-4 SV
152 Jacob Yawn (BYD) William Hayes (STR) Fall in 1:03
160 Jacob Chittom (PKY) Cameron Vaughns (BYD) 11-10 UTB
170 Logan Lewis (BYD) Terrence Murry (PKY) 5-3
182 Kaleb Garcia (PKY) Michael Salinas (AIR) Fall in 3:20
195 Bailee Creasey (BRD) Justin Nixon (HAU) 8-4
220 Peyton Miller (PKY) Christian Carradine (AIR) Fall in 5:28
285 Bobby Simpson, III (BYD) Dezrel Eloph (PKY) 8-1

Back to Top

Greg Lavergne Lafayette Parish Duals

Teurlings Catholic won six dual meets to win the Greg Lavergne Lafayette Parish Duals.  Comeaux came in second, followed by Carencro, Acadiana and Southside.

The Rebels victories were 84-0 over Northside, 78-6 over Southside, 56-15 over Comeaux, 80-0 over Lafayette, 75-6 over Acadiana and 64-15 over Carencro.

Worth noting: Carencro junior and defending Division II state champion was 5-0 (with one forfeit) with one of them a 3-2 win over defending Division II state champion David Bernard of Teurlings Catholic.

Back to Top

© 2019-20 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.