LHSAA State Wrestling Tournament: Division II
May 9th, 2021 | Written by: Editor | Teurlings Catholic team photo courtesy of Tracie Morrow Sonnier




One has to appreciate the enthusiasm of the Caddo Magnate fans

One might have thought the race for the Division II team championship would have been a nail-biter.  At the Louisiana Classic Teurlings Catholic only scored 5.5 more points and placed only one spot higher than North Desoto, and the Rebels entered 14 wrestlers while the Griffins entered only 11.  Well, at this event, the Griffins only placed one spot below the Rebels again and that was worth their second consecutive runner-up trophy.  Teurlings Catholic, however, earned their ninth championship in the last 11 years, and they did it in a resounding fashion.  They accumulated 301.5 points, outdistancing the Griffins by 70.5.  The Rebels scored the most points in a Division II state championship since 2011 when 313.5 points were scored by...Teurlings Catholic when they won their first team title.  One could hazard to say that the Rebels hoarded so many points that nine Division II schools were not able to score any.

Shaw was not far behind the Griffins' 231 points with 223.5, besting their previous state tournament highest points total by 11 points.  Rummel was fourth with 163 points and Carencro and Rayne tied for fifth-place with 152 points each.

Division II brackets in PDF

Division II Champions
Teurlings Catholic Rebels
The Rebels placed seven wrestlers in the finals and won six individual titles.  Ashton Sonnier and Ethan Boudreaux started with the first two wins of the evening.  They took a break from finals action until 145 lbs. in which Logan Smith fell to Rummel's Jake Ramirez, but in each of the previous weight classes in which they did not win, a Rebel placed third.  Joshua Vincent and John Paul Travasos won the next two weight classes, and they completed their championships with Reid Bourgeois at 182 lbs. and Joel Lanclos at 220 lbs.  In the remaining three weight classes a Teurlings Catholic wrestler placed fifth and third.  The Rebels placed all 14 of their entrants in the top-six of their weight classes.
8.5 x 11 framable 4 x 6 framable

Division II Runners-up
North Desoto Griffins
The Griffins placed five in the finals but only Cameron Davis at 126 lbs. took home a bracket.  Lance Ferguson, Hunter Hanson, Andrew Gonzalez and Dylan Olivier were runners-up.  Three Griffins placed third, one fourth, one fifth and two sixth.  Thirteen Griffins placed in the event.

Third-place Shaw was four for four in championship matches.  Junior Glenn Price won his third title at 120 lbs., and Ashton Surrency, the brother of Shaw coach Brandon Surrency, a 2009 Division II state champion, won at 138 lbs. over defending Division II state champion Ryder Hawly of Rayne.  Jude Monaco capped a perfect season with a win at 170 lbs. and fourth-seeded Jason Bush, Jr. defeated the #1 seed and the #3 seed to win at 185 lbs.

At 132 lbs. Carencro's Tyrick Clay won his second consecutive championship as did Rummel's Jacob Ramirez  at 145 lbs.  Latrell Williams of Carencro, a 2019 champion as a sophomore and a runner-up in 2020, claimed his second title at 195 lbs.

Ten Rebels, including all six of their state champions, will should return next season.  Ten Griffins should also return, but they will lose teir state champion and two of their runners-up to graduation.  Shaw is someone the Griffins and possibly the Rebels will need to "keep tabs on."  They should return 11 state tournament starters including three of their state champions.

Back to Top

Outstanding Wrestler


Joshua Vincent, a runner-up at the Louisiana Classic but only a fourth-seed at 152 lbs., won the Division II Outstanding wrestler award.  Vincent won his first match in 0:35 but had a harder time with Belle Chasse's Gavin Gauthreaux, the Louisiana Classic's unexpected semifinalist at 160 lbs.  Vincent put that match away in 5:56 and then held top-seeded Hunter Addison of North Desoto to a mere three points while racking up eight for himself.  In the finals he defeated second-seeded Michael Seal of Shaw, who placed third in 2020, 6-2.

Back to Top

Final Team Scores

Place Team Points Place Team Points Place Team Points
1 Teurlings Catholic 301.5 10 Haughton 41 T-19 East Jefferson 0
2 North Desoto 231 11 Pearl River 39 T-19 Huntington 0
3 Shaw 113.5 12 Caddo Magnate 26 T-19 Istrouma 0
4 Rummel 163 13 North Vermillion 22 T-19 L.W. Higgins 0
T-5 Carencro 152 T-14 Broadmoor 7 T-19 McKinley 0
T-5 Rayne 152 T-14 St. Thomas More 7 T-19 Minden 0
7 Belle Chasse 132.5 16 Riverdale 6 T-19 NOMMA 0
8 Lakeshore 82.5 17 Salmen 3 T-19 Northside 0
9 Benton 55 18 Plaquemine 2.5 T-19 Woodlawn 0

Back to Top

© 2018 by Louisiana Wrestling News

You may not make electronic copies of these copyrighted materials nor redistribute them to 3rd parties in any form without written permission.